This is often the result of cross platform usage of the device. In Mac OS the operating system adds anonymous hidden files when a factory reset is performed. This in unavoidable when formatting any USB mass storage device on Mac OS. Generally the hidden files are not any concern, they are merely there to assist the operating system. No action needs to be taken.