Yes. Both the Enterprise and DL3 drive is designed to work as a standard external storage device. Encryption on the drive is hardware based, and works automatically through the device.

​There is no need to re-encrypt the drive again after the backup process has been completed. Normally when you start the backup process, Windows Server will wipe the external drive first before proceeding to transfer the backup data. However, because the drive encryption is done on the hardware level, Enterprise and DL3 drives save time without the need for backup to be completed to begin encryption, as is required with software based encryption solutions.